how to get a death certificate in kansas

How to Get a Death Certificate in Kansas: Everything You Need to Know

Everything you need to know about accessing death records in Kansas. All the information you need to submit your request, plus who can access a Kansas death certificate, the cost, and how to get started.

What are Death Certificates (and Why is it Important to Get a Kansas Death Certificate)?

Kansas death certificates are legal documents, issued by the Kansas Department of Health and Environment, that record the date, location, and cause of a person’s death that occurred within Kansas.

In Kansas, death certificates are completed by a physician or coroner, and the funeral director.

Kansas law requires all deaths that occur within the state be registered via a death certificate within 3 days of the death.

Even though families and estate representatives typically require multiple copies of a loved one’s death certificate to manage their estate, you won’t automatically receive copies, and need to ask.

Most often, you can request death certificates from the funeral director. It’s prudent to request up to 10 copies when someone passes in order to close accounts and wrap up their estate.

If you need additional death certificates, or didn’t receive copies from the funeral director, you can request them via the vital records office.

Vital Records Offices in Kansas

Kansas’ Division of Public Health is in charge of vital records in Kansas.

Kansas has been filing death certificates for those who passed away in Kansas since 1911.

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment issues certified copies of Kansas death certificates, as well as birth, marriage, and divorce certificates.

You can only get a vital record in Kansas for an event that occurred in Kansas.

In other words, you can only get a Kansas death certificate for a person who died in Kansas. If they were a Kansas resident, but passed away out-of-state, you won’t be able to get a death certificate from Kansas.

How to Get a Death Certificate in Kansas?

Kansas death certificates can be ordered by mail, by phone, in person, online or by mobile app.

How to Get a Kansas Death Certificate by Mail

To order a death certificate by mail in Kansas, print and fill out the application form, and mail it (along with the fee or payment information) to:

Office of Vital Statistics
Curtis State Office Building
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 120
Topeka, KS 66612-2221

The application form is available in English and in Spanish from Kansas Department of Health and Environment.

The pro of ordering a Kansas death certificate by mail is that it’s convenient, doesn’t require an in-person visit to a the Office of Vital Statistics located in Topeka, and is cheaper than ordering online.

The cost is $20 for one certified copy. Payment for mail-in applications can be made by check or money order made payable to the “Kansas Vital Statistics”.

The con of ordering by mail is that it may take longer to receive the death certificates you’ve ordered, due to mailing time.

How to Get an Kansas Death Certificate Over the Phone

To order a death certificate by phone in Kansas, call 877-305-8315. The service is available 24/7, 365 days a year and service is available in Spanish and English.

Telephone requests paid for with a credit card will be processed within three business days, and can be delivered by UPS if you provide a UPS deliverable address and someone is available to sign for the delivery.

When ordering by phone, you can pay by credit card (Visa, Mastercard, Amex, and Discover are accepted) or Visa or Mastercard debit card. The cost is $20 per certified copy, plus a service fee of $13.95.

How to Get a Kansas Death Certificate In Person

To order a death certificate in person in Kansas, you can go to the Office of Vital Statistics in Topeka, which accepts walk-in customers.

In-person service is available from 9:00am through 4:00pm, weekdays excluding holidays. The office is located at:

Curtis State Office Building, 1st Floor
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 120
Topeka, KS 66612-2221

For in person visits, the Office of Vital Statistics located in Topeka can issue a certified copy of the death certificate same day. It typically takes 15 to 20 minutes, assuming they are able to find the records easily and it’s a straightforward request.

Payment can be made by cash, check, money order, or credit card, made payable to Office of Vital Statistics. The cost for ordering in-person is $20 for each certified copy.

How to Order a Kansas Death Certificate Online

To order a Kansas death certificate online, you need to order them through an independent company called VitalChek Network Inc.

VitalChek Network accepts major credit cards for payment, and offers the option to choose UPS for faster shipping, and for an additional fee.

While death certificates ordered directly through the Kansas Department of Health and Environment cost $20 for one certified copy, death certificates ordered online through VitalChek cost $20 per copy, plus a $13.95 service fee, plus the cost of shipping to deliver the certificate(s) you requested.

Processing time is an estimated 7 to 10 business days, plus shipping time.

How to Get a Kansas Death Certificate Using the Mobile App

Kansas’ IKAN app is another convenient way to order a Kansas death certificate. You can download the app (IKAN – State of Kansas) to your device, and pay via credit card or ACH.

When ordering through the app, you can choose either will call deliver, to pick up in-person in Topeka, or regular mail. Will call is usually ready the same or the next business day, and regular mail takes an estimated 7 to 10 business days.

The cost to order through the app is $20 per certified copy, plus a $5 processing fee.

Information Required to Obtain a Death Certificate in Kansas

To get a copy of an existing death certificate, you need to:

  • Provide enough relevant information about the deceased to ensure the state is able to locate relevant death records.
  • Demonstrate you have a right to access access the death certificate.
  • Meet Kansas ID requirements for applicants.

Information Required to Request a Death Certificate in Kansas

To order death records in Kansas, you need to provide information about the deceased to help the Division of Public Health find the death record you need.

In Kansas, the following information is listed on the application form:

  • First, middle, and last name of the deceased, as listed on the death certificate
  • Date of death
  • Race
  • Sex
  • Place of death (city and county in Kansas)
  • Date of birth/age at death
  • Marital status at death and name of spouse (if applicable)
  • Parent’s names (before marriage)
  • Residence of death
  • Place of birth
  • Funeral home name
  • City/county where buried

The application form will also ask your personal and contact information, plus your relationship to the deceased and ID.

Qualifications: Who Can Order a Death Certificate in Kansas

In addition to providing information about the deceased, you’ll need to demonstrate you have a right to access the death certificate.

According to Kansas law, death certificates are not public record. Only certain people can access Kansas death records, such as immediate family and those with a legitimate interest (i.e. legal representation or beneficiaries of the estate). These people include adults aged 18 and older who are:

  • Parents or legal guardian
  • Current spouse
  • Adult children
  • Grandparents
  • Siblings
  • Aunts/uncles
  • Niece/nephew
  • Others with a legitimate interest, such as a beneficiary of the estate with documentation

When requesting a Kansas death certificate, you’ll need to provide your name and relationship to the deceased individual.

You’ll also need to provide an address to which the death certificate should be mailed, and your contact information.

Finally, you need to sign the request.

What ID is Needed to Get Death Certificates in Kansas?

Individuals applying for a Kansas death record need to submit their request along with the appropriate personal identification.

Along with the application, you need to include a photocopy of your government issued identification such as:

  • Government issued photo ID, such as a driver’s license, military ID, state ID card, passport and/or visa.
  • Permanent resident card
  • Alien registration receipt card
  • Employment authorization card
  • Re-entry permit
  • Refugee travel document
  • VA Card (with photo)
  • Voter registration card (Countries outside of the U.S.)
  • Certificate of Naturalization (with photo)
  • Concealed Carry handgun license
  • Resident alien card

If you don’t have any of the above pieces of accepted ID, you can find a list of secondary IDs that are accepted on the back of the application form.

Frequently Asked Questions About Getting a Kansas Death Certificate

How much does a Kansas death record search cost?

Kansas charges $20 for one certified copy of a death certificate. After paying the fee, you’ll get either one certified copy of the death certificate. If they can’t find the death certificate you’re after, you may get a “failure to find” certificate.

For each additional copy of a Kansas death certificate (ordered at the same time), the fee is also $20 per copy.

If you choose to order Kansas death records through certain methods, you may also need to pay a service fee between $5 and $13.95.

Can anyone obtain a copy of a death certificate in Kansas, or only certain individuals?

Kansas law restricts access to vital records, including death certificates. In Kansas, access to death certificate is restricted and death certificates are not public record.

This means only certain people (immediate family or estate representatives) can request a copy and you may have to prove your relationship to the deceased.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *