how to get a death certificate in hawaii

How to Get a Death Certificate in Hawaii: Everything You Need to Know

Everything you need to know about accessing death records in Hawaii. All the information you need to submit your request, plus who can access a Hawaii death certificate, the cost, and how to get started.

What are Death Certificates (and Why is it Important to Get a Hawaii Death Certificate)?

Hawaii death certificates are legal documents, issued by the Hawaii State Department of Health, that record the date, location, and cause of a person’s death that occurred within Hawaii.

In Hawaii, death certificates are completed by a physician, physician assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse who cared for the deceased, or medical examiner, as well as the funeral home responsible for disposition of the body.

Hawaii law requires all deaths that occur within the state be registered via a death certificate within 3 days of the death.

Even though families and estate representatives typically require multiple copies of a loved one’s death certificate to manage their estate, you won’t automatically receive copies, and need to ask.

Most often, you can request death certificates from the funeral director. It’s prudent to request up to 10 copies when someone passes in order to close accounts and wrap up their estate.

If you need additional death certificates, or didn’t receive copies from the funeral director, you can request them via the vital records office.

Vital Records Offices in Hawaii

Hawaii State’s Department of Health is in charge of vital records in Hawaii.

Hawaii has been consistently filing death certificates for those who passed away in Hawaii since 1896.

The Hawaii State Department of Health issues certified copies of Hawaii death certificates, as well as birth, marriage, and divorce certificates.

You can only get a vital record in Hawaii for an event that occurred in Hawaii.

In other words, you can only get a Hawaii death certificate for a person who died in Hawaii. If they were a Hawaii resident, but passed away out-of-state, you won’t be able to get a death certificate from Hawaii.

How to Get a Death Certificate in Hawaii?

Hawaii death certificates can be ordered by mail or in-person with an appointment.

How to Get a Hawaii Death Certificate by Mail

To order a death certificate by mail in Hawaii, print and fill out the application form, and mail it (along with the fee or payment information) to:

State Department of Health
Office of Health Status Monitoring
Issuance/Vital Statistics Section
P.O. Box 3378
Honolulu, HI 96801

The application form is available from the Hawaii State Department of Health.

The pro of ordering a Hawaii death certificate by mail is that it’s convenient, doesn’t require an in-person visit to the Office of Health Status Monitoring located in Honolulu, and is cheaper than ordering online.

The cost is $10 for one copy, plus $4 for each additional copy. Payment for mail-in applications can be made by cashier’s check, certified check, or money order made payable to the Hawaii State Department of Health. Cash and personal checks aren’t accepted for mail orders.

The con of ordering by mail is that it may take longer to receive the death certificates you’ve ordered, due to mailing time.

How to Get a Hawaii Death Certificate In Person

To order a death certificate in person in Hawaii, you can go to the Issuance/Vital Statistics Section located in Honolulu, and they can issue a certified copy of a death certificate in about 10 days

The office typically requires you to book an appointment. You can schedule it online in advance.

That said, they do accept walk-in service between appointments, if (and only if) time permits.

The office is open Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, (closed on Tuesdays, Thursdays, and all state holidays) between the hours of 7:45am and 2:30pm.

It’s located in the main Hawaii Department of Health building. The address is 1250 Punchbowl Street, at the corner of Beretania and Punchbowl Streets. It’s in room 103 on the first floor.

When applying in person, the applicant must show a valid government-issued photo ID, such as a State ID, driver’s license, etc.

Before going in person, it’s helpful to fill out the application form, and ensure you have all the required documentation and ID.

Payment can be made by cash, credit card, cashier’s check, certified check or money order payable to the Hawaii Department of Health. The cost for ordering in-person is $10 for one copy, plus $4 for each additional copy.

How to Get a Hawaii Death Certificate In Person If You’re Not in Honolulu

If you don’t want to apply by mail and can’t go to the main office in Honolulu to apply in person, you can get in touch with your local District Health Office to see if they can issue death certificates. They will likely only be able to issue death certificates for deaths that occurred within the district.

For Hawaii Island, you can contact the local registrar in Hilo or Kamuela.

For Maui County (including Maui, Lanai, and Molokai), no pickup service is available. You need to use the mail in service outlined above.

On Kauai, call (808) 241-3498.

How to Order a Hawaii Death Certificate Online

At the time of writing, Hawaii doesn’t have an online system to order death certificates.

Information Required to Obtain a Death Certificate in Hawaii

To get a copy of an existing death certificate, you need to:

  • Provide enough relevant information about the deceased to ensure the office of vital records is able to locate the death records.
  • Demonstrate eligibility to access the death certificate.
  • Meet Hawaii’s identification requirements for applicants.

Information Required to Request a Death Certificate in Hawaii

To order death records in Hawaii, you need to provide information about the deceased to help the Department of Health find the death record you need.

In Hawaii, the following information is required to receive a certified copy of a death certificate:

  • First, middle, and last name of the deceased
  • Sex
  • Date of death
  • Place of death (including city or town and island)
  • Social security number

The application form will also ask you personal and contact information, plus your relationship to the deceased.

Qualifications: Who Can Order a Death Certificate in Hawaii

In addition to providing information about the deceased, you’ll need to demonstrate you have a right to access the death certificate.

According to Hawaii law, death certificates have “restricted access” for 75 years after someone has died. Only certain people can access restricted Hawaii death records, and documentation is required. These people include:

  • Spouse
  • Parent(s) or legal guardian
  • A direct descendant, such as a child or grandchild)
  • A relative with a common ancestor, such as a sibling, grandparent, aunt/uncle, or cousin
  • Person or agency acting on behalf of the deceased
  • Representative of the deceased’s estate
  • Someone named on a court order
  • Adoptive parents (they must have filed a petition for adoption and have a need to determine the death of one or more of the to-be adopted child’s natural or legal parents)
  • People who have specific legal reasons accepted by the state (determining marital status of a former spouse for the purpose of alimony; determining death of a co-owner of a property; credit insurance policy reasons)

When requesting a Hawaii death certificate, you’ll need to provide your name and relationship to the deceased individual, along with documentation that proves your relationship to the deceased, such as a birth certificate (if you are their child) or marriage certificate (if you are their spouse).

You’ll also need to provide an address to which the death certificate should be mailed, and your contact information.

Finally, you need to sign the request.

What ID is Needed to Get Death Certificates in Hawaii?

Individuals applying for a Hawaii death record need to submit their request along with government issued personal identification.

Frequently Asked Questions About Getting a Hawaii Death Certificate

How much does a Hawaii death record search cost?

Hawaii charges $10 for one copy, plus $4 for each additional copy for a death record search. After paying the fee, you’ll get either one certified copy of the death certificate. If they can’t find the death certificate you’re after, you may get a “failure to find” certificate.

Can anyone obtain a copy of a death certificate in Hawaii, or only certain individuals?

Hawaii law restricts access to vital records, including death certificates. In Hawaii, access to death certificate is restricted for 75 years after a person’s death.

This means only certain people (such as immediate family or estate representatives) can request a copy, and documentation is required to prove eligibility.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *